Uber is tracking your location even if you’re not using the app

Uber recently changed the way the app collects your location data. Previously Uber app was tracking your location “While Using the App”, which means iOS only reveal your location to Uber when you’re using the app.

When you run the latest update, Uber app will prompt you to accept their new policy with an explanation.

Uber is tracking your location even if you are not using the app

On iOS, an app has three location tracking options. The first is “Never”, the second is “While Using the App” and the third is “Always”. Thus in order to track your location five minutes after your trip ends, the app has to change to “Always” track your location.

So it is up to you to have good faith in Uber that they’re not tracking your location after the said five minutes. It is strange that Uber has to circumvent the basic iOS privacy protection to implement its app feature. As one of the largest app on iOS, Uber is in good position to discuss with Apple on how to properly get the additional five minutes tracking.  

You can prevent location tracking by going to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Uber and select “Never”. Or remove the app if you’re uncomfortable about the changes.