Prince’s 23 albums from 1995 to 2010 on Apple Music and Spotify

Prince 23 albums from 1995 to 2010 available on Apple Music, Spotify, YouTube

Sony and Prince Estate has just released Prince’s 23 albums from 1995 to 2010 to major streaming services. These are albums by Prince after he left Warner Bros. Previously only early albums by Prince such as “1999”, “Purple Rain” etc are available on streaming platforms. Together with these back catalog albums, there is also a new compilation album “Anthology: 1995-2010”, which is a collection of 37 songs curated from this period.

How to disable video autoplay in App Store app

App Store app in iOS 11 by default will play video preview of apps to give you better idea about the apps. This autoplay feature is helpful but puts strain on your battery life and uses up data bandwidth. To disable the autoplay, go to Settings > iTunes & App Store.

How to disable app previews video autoplay in iOS 11

Tap on the “Video Autoplay” section, and select “Off” to turn it off. Select “Wi-Fi Only” if you want the auto previews but limit them only when connected to Wi-Fi.

How to reopen the last closed tab in mobile Safari

We described how you can reopen the last closed tab in Safari for macOS by simply pressing Command-Z (⌘-Z). Turns out you can reopen the last closed tab on mobile Safari as well.

On mobile Safari bottom toolbar, tap on the Tabs button. On the Tabs screen that pops up, locate the Add (+) button on the bottom toolbar.

Tap and hold on the Add icon to bring up the “Recently Closed Tabs” listing. Simply tap on the list item to bring back the website you recently visited.

How to download a copy of your data from Apple

Apple recently allows its users to download a copy of their data from Apple apps and services. This is likely an effort to be compliance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). The data contains all your info stored and collected on Apple servers, including app purchase and usage, and data from Apple apps such as Notes, Calendar and Photos.

Note: The feature to download a copy of your data is not available in all countries.

To request a copy of your data, head over to Apple’s Data and Privacy site at privacy.apple.com and sign in with your Apple ID. Once sign in, click the “Continue” button to skip the first notice screen.

Download a copy of your Apple data

Under “Manage Your Data” > “Get a copy of your data”, click on “Get Started” link.

Your personal data on Apple servers

You will then see a long list of various Apple apps and services. Click the selection box next to each category to include them in your download. Click on the “Continue” button once you’ve completed you choices.

Apple effort to be compliance with GDPR

On the next page, you have to choose a maximum file size (1GB, 2GB, 5GB, 10GB, or 25GB) for the download. Apple will split your data into files with your chosen size or smaller. Click the “Complete request” button to submit your download request.

See what data Apple has collected on you

Apple will email to confirm that it has received your request and the preparation can take up to seven days.

Quick way to redial the last number on iPhone

To redial numbers you called on your iPhone, you can tap on the Recents tab for the recent calls list. If you just need the last dialed number, a quick way is to tap on the green phone icon on the keypad. This will retrieve the last dialed number but does not initiate the call, allowing you to confirm or make changes to the number.

Change the default macOS screenshot format

By default macOS saves the screenshots you take in PNG format. You can change the file format to JPG, GIF, TIFF or PDF.

To change the default screenshot file format, launch the Terminal app. To change the format to JPG, enter the following two commands in the terminal:

$ defaults write com.apple.screencapture type jpg
$ killall SystemUIServer

The killall command basically reloads the macOS SystemUIServer software to effect the changes.

To change to PDF format:

$ defaults write com.apple.screencapture type pdf
$ killall SystemUIServer

Similarly, to change to other formats, just replace the format string in the command above.

How to delete a Facebook account

If you’re tired of the social network, or don’t trust them with your personal data, a simple solution is to delete your Facebook account.

Facebook Login With Other Apps and Services

Facebook Login is used by some apps to authenticate your identity. Before you proceed to delete your Facebook account, please check that you do not have any essential apps that are using Facebook Login. You can find out the apps that are using your Facebook Login under Facebook app permissions.

For example, you might be using your Facebook Login to access to Airbnb. Change your Airbnb account to use other login method.

Download your Facebook data

You might want to download a copy of your personal data before deleting your Facebook account.

Go to Facebook on the web, click the down arrow button at far right of the menu. Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu. Click on “General” on the left panel to access the “General Account Settings” page, and click on the last item “Download a copy of your Facebook data” to initiate data download.

Deleting your Facebook account

Deleting an account is permanent and there is no way to undo. Facebook is not making it easy for anyone to delete their Facebook account. The option is under the Help section of Facebook.

Go to Facebook Delete my account page.

Click on the “Delete My Account” button. Confirm that you want to delete the account with the CAPTCHA and click on the “Ok” button.

Once you deleted your Facebook account, it will take up to a few weeks to completely delete the account. Don’t try to signin back during this period to avoid the account being reactivated.

Deactivating your Facebook account

Instead of permanently deleting your Facebook account, you can temporarily deactivate your account. Its available under the “General Account Settings”, the same page where you download your Facebook data. Click on “Manage account” for the option to deactivate your Facebook account.

Deactivating Facebook account is a half-hearten solution for moving away from Facebook. You will always be tempted to login back and resume using Facebook. This is not recommended once you have decided to quit Facebook.

Uninstall Facebook apps

The last step is to remove the Facebook app from your computer and devices.

It’s time to check your Facebook app permissions

Facebook is facing its biggest scandal to date as its user data was harvested by marketing firm Cambridge Analytica and then used for political propaganda. If you’re not one of those millions who have since deleted their Facebook accounts, the next best thing to do is to check your Facebook app permissions.

Cambridge Analytica took advantage of a Facebbok loophole few years back. By using a simple quiz on Facebook, the firm was able to gather personal data for about 50 millions Facebook users. Facebook had corrected the loophole of app permissions. Nevertheless, you’re still giving away your personal info to apps that has your permissions.

To revoke app permissions, signin to Facebook on the web. Click on the down arrow on the far right of menu and select “settings” from the drop-down menu.

On the left pane, click on “Apps” for a list of all apps that you have given permissions to. To remove an app, hover over the app icon and click the ‘x’ Remove button.

It’s a best practice to regularly review your app permissions in Facebook, so that you can remove any unused apps from gathering your personal data.