How to disable photo tagging in Twitter

How to disable photo tagging in Twitter

Twitter has become more like Facebook with the rolling out of photo tagging feature. You can tag up to 10 people in a photo, and each tweet now can contain up to 4 photos. That’s how you can embarrass 40 people at once in just 140 characters.

This is good news for Twitter and horrifying news for those who scream discretion. By default, anyone can tag you in the photo that they tweet. Here’s how to change this settings.

Twitter.com

At Twitter.com website, click on the gear icon
gear-icon that is located at right corner of menu bar. Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu.

How to disable photo tagging in Twitter privacy settings

Click on “Security and privacy” on the menu on the left. Under Privacy section, the default for Photo Tagging is “Allow anyone to tag me on photos”. Click to change it to “Only allow people I follow to tag me in photos” or “Do not allow anyone to tag me in photos” for some privacy. Remember to click on “Save Changes” button at bottom of the page to save your new settings.

Twitter for iOS

Make sure you have the latest version of Twitter on your iPhone or iPad. Tap on the “Me” tab and click on the gear icon gear-icon. On the popup menu, select “Settings” and select your Twitter account.

How to disable photo tagging in Twitter iOS app

Tap on “Photo tagging” to change your photo tagging settings in Twitter. Tap the “Photo tagging” switch to turn it off. This is equivalent to the “Do not allow anyone to tag me in photos” settings on Twitter.com website.