How to delete a Facebook account

If you’re tired of the social network, or don’t trust them with your personal data, a simple solution is to delete your Facebook account.

Facebook Login With Other Apps and Services

Facebook Login is used by some apps to authenticate your identity. Before you proceed to delete your Facebook account, please check that you do not have any essential apps that are using Facebook Login. You can find out the apps that are using your Facebook Login under Facebook app permissions.

For example, you might be using your Facebook Login to access to Airbnb. Change your Airbnb account to use other login method.

Download your Facebook data

You might want to download a copy of your personal data before deleting your Facebook account.

Go to Facebook on the web, click the down arrow button at far right of the menu. Select “Settings” from the drop-down menu. Click on “General” on the left panel to access the “General Account Settings” page, and click on the last item “Download a copy of your Facebook data” to initiate data download.

Deleting your Facebook account

Deleting an account is permanent and there is no way to undo. Facebook is not making it easy for anyone to delete their Facebook account. The option is under the Help section of Facebook.

Go to Facebook Delete my account page.

Click on the “Delete My Account” button. Confirm that you want to delete the account with the CAPTCHA and click on the “Ok” button.

Once you deleted your Facebook account, it will take up to a few weeks to completely delete the account. Don’t try to signin back during this period to avoid the account being reactivated.

Deactivating your Facebook account

Instead of permanently deleting your Facebook account, you can temporarily deactivate your account. Its available under the “General Account Settings”, the same page where you download your Facebook data. Click on “Manage account” for the option to deactivate your Facebook account.

Deactivating Facebook account is a half-hearten solution for moving away from Facebook. You will always be tempted to login back and resume using Facebook. This is not recommended once you have decided to quit Facebook.

Uninstall Facebook apps

The last step is to remove the Facebook app from your computer and devices.