How to use the camera app in iOS 11 to scan QR codes

QR code is a square pixelated pattern picture that when scan with a reader app, will redirect you to a website or to provide further info about a product. It is not common in the USA and Europe, but is a dominant method in China to link the offline world to the Internet.

In iOS 11, Apple build a QR scanner directly into the Camera app. To use it, simply point the camera to the QR code. Once a QR code is detected, a popup will appear on top of the camera view window.

Tap on the popup window to navigate to the link embedded in the QR code.

How to copy and paste picture directly into iCloud Drive and Google Drive in iOS 11

File management takes a notch up in iOS 11 as you can now create arbitrary files and folders in iCloud Drive and third party cloud drive using the Files app. Using Files app, you can quickly copy and paste picture directly into your cloud drive.

To save a web picture into Google Drive, the usual way is to first save the picture into iOS Camera Roll. Then you open up the Photos app, locate the picture, and use the share action to upload the picture to Google Drive.

Google has updated its Drive app to support file management from Files app. Here’s the quick way to save a picture to Google Drive:

On Safari, tap and hold on a picture or GIF until you see the action sheet at the bottom.

Tap on the “Copy” button to copy the image to system clipboard.

Open Files app. Navigate to the Google Drive folder where you want to save the picture. Tap and hold on an empty area to bring up the black color menu.

Tap on “Paste” on the menu to save the file to Google Drive. To rename the picture, tap the picture to bring up the menu and select “Rename” from the option.

In addition to Safari, you can use this method to save image from other apps as long as the apps support “copy” of image into system clipboard.

You can power off iPhone from the Settings app

The usual way to power off your iPhone is to press and hold the Side button for few seconds until you see the prompt to “slide to power off”.

In iOS 11, Apple added a new entry to the Settings app to allow you to trigger the above “slide to power off” screen. Go to Settings > General and scroll all the way to the bottom and tap the “Shut Down” item.

So now you know how to turn off your iPhone when the Side button is not functioning.

How to turn off In-App Ratings prompt in iOS 11

App ratings and reviews on the App Store are viewed as essential by app developers. It is a perception that apps with more reviews are more popular, and thus can attract more downloads. Many iOS apps implement in-app pop-up to prompt user to submit rating and review.

Starting with iOS 11, Apple is forcing developers to use its API to implement in-app ratings/review pop-up. The API limits the number of times app can ask for a rating. For those who are annoyed by these pop-ups, there is now a setting that allows you to turn-off such prompts for all apps.

Go to Settings > iTunes & App Store, toggle off the switch “In-App Ratings & Review”. That’s all you need to avoid in-app ratings/reviews prompts for all apps.

You can hide the app row in iMessage for iOS 11

To make it quicker for user to access their stickers, gifs and apps, Apple changes the iMessage chat screen in iOS 11 by placing a row of app icon at the bottom.

The icons on the app row are colourful and the look does not blend well with the text message input row. By default the app row is displayed when you enter a chat window. Luckily you can toggle to hide it from appearing at the bottom. 

You can hide the app row in iMessage for iOS 11

To hide the app row, simply tap on the iMessage App Store icon next to the camera icon. The app icons will stay hidden until you tap on the App Store icon again.

Control Center does not turn off Wi-Fi and Bluetooth in iOS 11

Control Center does not turn off Wi-Fi and Bluetooth in iOS 11

Apple changes not only the look of Control Center in iOS 11, it changes the behaviour of Wi-Fi and Bluetooth buttons on Control Center. In the past, when you tap to toggle off the Wi-Fi or Bluetooth button, iPhone completely shutdown the Wi-Fi  or Bluetooth services. Not anymore.

In iOS 11, when you tap to off Wi-Fi from the Control Center, it simply just disconnect from the current Wi-Fi router. The Wi-Fi service remains active on the device. Similarly when you tap to toggle off the Bluetooth button on the Control Center, it only disconnects any connected Bluetooth devices.

To actually turn off Wi-Fi and Bluetooth services on your devices, you have to do so via the Settings app.

Apple changes how you restart iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus

Apple changes the method in which you restart iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus. So there are now three different methods to reset your iPhone depending on the device model. Please note that starting with iPhone 8, Apple refers to the Sleep/Wake Button simply as Side Button.

How to restart or hard reset iPhone 8 and iPhone 8 Plus

  • Press and quickly release the Volume Up button.
  • Press and quickly release the Volume Down button.
  • Press and hold the Side button until you see the Apple logo.

How to restart or hard reset iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus

Press and hold both the Side button and Volume Down button for at least 10 seconds until you see the Apple logo.

How to restart or hard reset iPhone 6s, iPhone 6s Plus and earlier

Press and hold both the Home and Top (or Side) buttons for at least 10 seconds until you see the Apple logo.

How to clear iPhone’s memory without a restart

Apple’s company line has been that with iOS’s excellent memory management, there is no reason for users to quit apps or restart to clear off memory that causes slow down. In reality we all know iPhone tends to slow down after a while. Restarting your device is not the only way to make it run smoothly again. Here’s a simpler trick:

How to clear iPhone's memory without a restart

1. Unlock your iOS device. This trick will not work when you’re on lock screen.

2. Press and hold the power button until the “Slide to Power Off” bar appears.

3. Press and hold the home button until your phone is back to the home screen.

That’s all. Your iPhone’s memory is now refreshed.